India Buddhist Tour Itinerary: Explore Ancient Abodes of Buddha with IRCTC

India, the birthplace of Buddhism, offers a plethora of sacred sites where the footsteps of the enlightened one left an indelible mark. IRCTC with its Buddhist Special Tourist Train provides a unique opportunity to embark on an unforgettable pilgrimage to explore the spiritual heart of Buddhism in India.

Day 1: Departure from Delhi

Your quest to delve into the depths of Buddhism commences from the bustling metropolis of Delhi. As you board the luxurious IRCTC Buddhist Circuit Train, excitement brews within you, knowing that an enlightening journey lies ahead. Settle into your comfortable accommodation on the train and look forward to the soulful adventures that await.

Day 2: Bodh Gaya - The Place of Enlightenment

The train takes you to the sacred town of Bodh Gaya, where Siddhartha Gautama attained enlightenment under the Bodhi Tree, transforming into Buddha. Visiting the Mahabodhi Temple Complex, you'll experience a profound sense of serenity, meditating at the very spot where the historical event occurred. The Animesh Lochana Chaiya Stupa, a site of Buddha's meditation, and the breathtaking Bodhi Tree are also essential stops on this spiritual pilgrimage.

Day 3: Rajgir and Nalanda - Echoes of Ancient Wisdom

Rajgir, an ancient city nestled in the hills, is your next destination. It was an important location during Buddha's time and holds numerous spiritual relics. Explore the Griddhakuta Hill, where Buddha delivered many teachings, and the Venuvana Vihar, a bamboo grove monastery. Continue your journey to Nalanda, once a thriving center of learning, and visit the Nalanda University ruins, an emblem of intellectual pursuit during the golden age of Buddhism.

Day 4: Varanasi and Sarnath - Embracing the Spiritual Essence

The IRCTC Buddhist Circuit Train then takes you to Varanasi, the spiritual capital of India. Head to Sarnath, where Buddha delivered his first sermon after enlightenment. Pay your respects at the Dhamek Stupa, a magnificent structure representing the Buddha's teachings, and the Mulgandha Kuti Vihara, an important Buddhist temple. In the evening, witness the mesmerizing Ganga Aarti on the ghats, immersing yourself in the vibrant atmosphere.

Day 5: Nepal - Lumbini, the Birthplace of Buddha

Crossing the border into Nepal, you arrive at Lumbini, the hallowed birthplace of Buddha. In this tranquil setting, explore the Mayadevi Temple, which enshrines the exact spot where Buddha was born. The Ashokan Pillar and the Lumbini Garden add to the ambiance of spirituality and reverence.

Day 6: Kushinagar - Attaining Mahaparinirvana

Back in India, you head to Kushinagar, where Buddha attained Mahaparinirvana or final enlightenment. The Mahaparinirvana Temple houses a reclining Buddha statue, symbolizing the final liberation from the cycle of birth and death. Witnessing this serene sight, you can't help but feel a profound sense of peace and contemplation.

Day 7: Sravasti - A Glimpse into Monastic Life

Next on the itinerary is Sravasti, an ancient city where Buddha spent several rainy seasons. Visit the Jetvana Vihara, where Buddha taught numerous discourses, Pakki Kuti and Sahet Mahet. The historical and spiritual significance of Sravasti leaves an indelible mark on your journey.

Day 8: Agra - Taj Mahal Extravaganza

As your spiritual sojourn nears its end, the IRCTC Buddhist Circuit Train takes you to Agra, home to the mesmerizing Taj Mahal. While not directly associated with Buddhism, the architectural masterpiece stands as a symbol of eternal love and a reminder of the beauty that exists in the world.

The India Buddhist Tour Itinerary with the IRCTC Buddhist Circuit Train offers an awe-inspiring journey to the ancient abodes of Buddha, taking you through the heart of Buddhism in India and Nepal. From Bodh Gaya's enlightenment to Lumbini's birthplace, and from Sarnath's first sermon to Kushinagar's Mahaparinirvana, each destination holds a sacred tale that continues to inspire seekers of truth and wisdom.

Traveling on the IRCTC Buddhist Circuit Train provides a unique blend of convenience and spirituality, fostering a deep bond among fellow pilgrims seeking spiritual growth. As you return to Delhi, your heart will be filled with gratitude for the transformative experiences and the profound insights gained on this soulful journey. Join the IRCTC Buddhist Circuit Train to explore the timeless heritage of Buddhism and create cherished memories that will stay with you for a lifetime.

Disclaimer: All information provided on this website is in good faith. While we endeavor to keep the information up to date and correct, we suggest everyone refer to the official website for updated packages and offers. 


The IRCTC Buddhist Circuit Train covers important Buddhist sites in India, including Bodh Gaya, Rajgir, Nalanda, Varanasi, Sarnath, Lumbini, Kushinagar, and Sravasti.

The tour itinerary is of 8 days, providing ample time to explore the ancient abodes of Buddha and immerse in the spiritual heritage of Buddhism.

Yes, the IRCTC Buddhist Circuit Train offers comfortable accommodations onboard the train for the duration of the journey, ensuring a hassle-free and convenient experience.

The train is equipped with modern amenities, including air-conditioned coaches, dining cars serving delicious meals, hygienic washrooms, and a dedicated staff to cater to the needs of the passengers.

Yes, professional guides accompany the passengers throughout the journey, providing valuable insights into the historical and religious significance of each site.

Yes, the tour is designed to be inclusive and suitable for all age groups. However, considering the spiritual nature of the journey, it is recommended for individuals who have an interest in Buddhism and its heritage.