Buddha Tour and Travels: Discovering the Essence of Buddhism in India

In the enchanting land of India, where spirituality and culture intertwine, lies a mystical trail that traces the footsteps of the enlightened one, Gautama Buddha. Join us on a transformative expedition with Buddha Tour and Travels as we embark on the Buddhist Circuit Train, a voyage that unearths the essence of Buddhism. Through serene landscapes, ancient monasteries, and profound teachings, we discover the essence of Buddhism and its enduring influence on India's soul.

Chapter 1: Bodh Gaya - The Awakening of Spirit

Our odyssey commences in the serene town of Bodh Gaya, where the sacred Bodhi Tree stands tall, shading the very spot where Buddha reached enlightenment. As the first rays of dawn paint the sky, we gather under the tree, connecting with the divine energy that envelops the air. The Mahabodhi Temple witnesses our reverent prayers, and a sense of tranquility permeates our souls, igniting the journey of self-discovery.

Chapter 2: Nalanda and Rajgir - The Hallowed Halls of Learning

The wheels of the Buddhist Circuit Train transport us to Nalanda, an ancient center of learning that once housed thousands of monks and scholars. Amidst the ruins of Nalanda University, we wander through corridors that echo the wisdom of ancient texts and debates. Further, in Rajgir, we explore the Vulture's Peak, where Buddha delivered some of his most profound teachings, leaving an indelible mark on humanity's quest for knowledge and truth.

Chapter 3: Sarnath - The Turning of the Wheel of Dharma

As the train chugs towards Sarnath, the air fills with anticipation. Here, we witness Deer Park, where Buddha delivered his first sermon, setting the wheel of Dharma in motion. The ancient stupas and serene monasteries bear witness to the enduring legacy of compassion and enlightenment. As the sun sets, the evening chants resonate with the profound teachings, stirring our souls to embrace the path of virtue and mindfulness.

Chapter 4: Lumbini - The Scared Birthplace

In Lumbini, the very cradle of Buddhism, we stand in awe at the Mayadevi Temple, the spot where Siddhartha Gautama was born. The ambiance is sacred and humbling, as we connect with the beginning of a transformative journey that will reshape the world. We offer prayers for peace and enlightenment, understanding that the essence of Buddhism begins with compassion toward all beings.

Chapter 5: Kushinagar and Sravasti

As our voyage nears its conclusion, we arrive in Kushinagar, the place of Buddha's Mahaparinirvana. Amidst serene gardens and tranquil stupas, we reflect on the impermanence of life and the cycle of existence. Then, our train takes us to Sravasti, where the Jetavana Monastery stands as a testament to Buddha's teachings on kindness, forgiveness, and harmony.

Chapter 6: Agra - Marvelous End to the Journey

Finally, the train travels to Agra, where tourists can marvel at the magnificent Taj Mahal before returning to New Delhi.

With well-appointed carriages and trained guides accompanying tourists throughout the journey, the Buddhist Circuit Tourist Train promises a hassle-free and comfortable travel experience. The train has premium amenities such as air-conditioned rooms, onboard restaurants, and comfy bedding, making for a peaceful and delightful journey.

With Buddha Tour and Travels, our expedition through the Buddhist Circuit Train transcends geographical boundaries and delves into the depths of the human spirit. We leave no stone unturned in our quest to grasp the essence of Buddhism, as it intertwines with India's diverse culture and spiritual heritage. The trail from Bodh Gaya to Sravasti is not merely a physical journey, but an exploration of the mind and heart. As we step off the train, we carry with us the timeless wisdom, compassion, and enlightenment that Gautama Buddha gifted to the world, forever transformed by the essence of Buddhism in India.

Disclaimer: All information provided on this website is in good faith. While we endeavor to keep the information up to date and correct, we suggest everyone refer to the official website www.irctcbuddhisttrain.com for updated packages and offers.


The Buddhist circuit train is a special tourist train that covers various important Buddhist pilgrimage sites in India. It is designed to provide a comfortable and convenient travel experience for pilgrims and tourists interested in exploring the key destinations associated with Buddhism.

Yes, along with other prominent sites, the train typically covers Buddhist sites across India, including Bodh Gaya (where Buddha attained enlightenment), Sarnath (where Buddha gave his first sermon), Kushinagar (where Buddha attained Parinirvana), and Lumbini (birthplace of Buddha) in Nepal.

The duration of the tour is 8 days, providing enough time to explore each site thoroughly.

Yes, the tour is usually guided by experienced and knowledgeable guides who provide insights into the historical and religious significance of each site. They help travelers understand the teachings of Buddhism and the relevance of these places.

Tickets for the Buddhist Circuit train can be booked through the official website www.irctcbuddhisttrain.com. It's advisable to book well in advance to secure your seat on the train, as it can get booked quickly, especially during peak seasons.

While there might not be a strict dress code, it is advisable to dress modestly, especially when visiting Buddhist temples and monasteries, out of respect for the religious and cultural norms.